localplan.maidstone.gov.uk
BETA
This is our Maidstone Local Plan site dedicated to giving you the latest information and details about the local plan.

Local Plan Review


Contents

Contents

  • What is the Local Plan Review?
  • Local Plan Review Process
  • Evidence Base
  • Consultations

What is the Local Plan Review?

Local plans must be consistent with national policy but can also take on board local planning issues that are important to Maidstone.

The adopted Maidstone Borough Local Plan provides a framework for development until 2031. It plans for homes, jobs, shopping, leisure and the environment, and provides infrastructure to support these. The plan was formally adopted at Full Council on 25 October 2017.

The Local Plan Review will ensure that the Local Plan remains up to date.


Local Plan Review Process

Local Development Scheme

We're required by government to prepare a Local Development Scheme (LDS). A LDS sets out the timetable for the delivery of planning policy documents like our Local Plan.

We adopted our Local Plan in October 2017 and intend to review it. The LDS sets out the timetable for our Local Plan Review.

It was approved by Full Council on 18 July 2018 and took effect the same day.

To find out more view our Local Development Scheme

There is an update for this document which can be viewed here.

Statement of Community Involvement 2018

The Statement of Community Involvement 2018 sets out when and how stakeholders and the local community can get involved in the preparation of local plans, neighbourhood development plans and supplementary planning documents, and be involved in the process of decision making on planning applications.

There is an addendum for this document which can be viewed here.

There is a temporary addendum in relation to Covid 19 which can be viewed here.

Sustainability Appraisal

The Sustainability Appraisal assessment process communicates significant sustainability issues and effects of emerging plans and policies. The appraisal informs the plan-making process by helping refine the contents of documents. This will help maximise the benefits of sustainable development to avoid or minimise adverse effects.

A Scoping Report has been produced to provide context and determine the scope of the Sustainability Appraisal. It sets out the assessment framework for undertaking the later stages of the Sustainability Appraisal.

The report has been published for consultation to the bodies of Historic England, Natural England and the Environment Agency. The consultation will run for 5 weeks between 4 February 2019 and 11 March 2019.cx

Authority Monitoring Report

The authority monitoring report (AMR) for Maidstone provides a framework with which to monitor and review the effectiveness of Local Plan Policies.

Call for Sites

The Call for Sites has now closed, and we are assessing the sites for inclusion within a consultation draft of the Local Plan. Sites submitted to the council after 1st March 2020 will not be included in the Preferred Options consultation document. The next opportunity to submit a new/alternative site, or comment upon sites will be during the next public consultation in late 2020. For more information visit our Call for Sites page.

Evidence Base

Sports Facilities and Playing Pitch Strategies

The Sports Facilities Strategy and the Playing Pitch Strategy form part of the evidence base for the Local Plan Review. The strategies were presented and approved at the Strategic Planning, Sustainability and Transportation Committee.

You can read the strategies, including stakeholder and members actions and comments below:

Sports Facilities Strategy

Playing Pitch Strategy

Consultations

Local Plan Review -Scoping, Themes & Issues Public Consultation 2019

Between 19th July 2019 and 30th September 2019 we consulted on the Local Plan Review Scoping, Themes and Issues (Regulation 18a). .

Click here to view the responses received for this public consultation.

The next consultation, Preferred Approaches (Regulation 18b) for the Local Plan Review is due to be held in October 2020.


Share this page

Twitter Facebook